KCWC Fall 2012: Day 3

While I didn’t get to it during the Spring KCWC earlier this year, I acquainted myself with Rae’s Flashback Skinny T-shirt pattern over the summer for a couple of pajama tops for M and C. Very quick sew, doesn’t require much fabric and a great way to use up all of my old stretchy fitted t-shirts piling up in the repurpose bin.  Then last week I saw this post by Rae about doing a fuller, gathered sleeve and a different approach to the neckline, which makes for a much girlier little top.  I’d been hoarding an old Gap super-soft navy and white striped long sleeve tee for the perfect project and once I saw Rae’s top I knew that M would look adorable in this – she’s definitely a navy blue kind of girl.

The neckline could use a bit more gathering but I think it still works.  I opted for the 3/4 length sleeve and sewed a small casing for 1/4″ elastic around the bottom of the sleeve.  Day 4 this week will include the same top for C but in a different fabric.  While I’ve never dressed my girls exactly alike, I’m a big fan of complimentary outfits – same style, different fabrics – because quite frankly it makes dressing them each day so much easier for me.  Not matchy-matchy, but still looking like they “go” together.

This entry was posted in For the girls, KCWC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

