Dressing the Bump: My PERFECT Maternity Top

At 26 weeks pregnant now, and after multiple tries at knit maternity tops I’ve FINALLY conquered it – and I LOVE this top!  It’s the perfect blend of feminine shape but not skin-tight, and gives enough coverage with room to grow.  And I still have quite a bit of growing to do with the last trimester ahead of me.

I invested in the Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity T-shirt pattern a couple months ago, and after a couple tries at getting my size right I was very happy with the silhouette of it but not so much with the lower necklines and fitted factor.

I’m just personally not a fan of super-clingy tops, but I do want to show off the bump to a degree.  So I made a mental note to regrade that pattern to add more ease and higher necklines both front and back.  And then a Quiet Book (in process) and KCW happened and I never got back to it.

Then, late the other night I had an epiphany… I’ve been seeing some awesome reviews of the free Scoop Top pattern released last week by Kristin at Skirt as Top, and I noticed that the back of the top hangs lower than the front.  It occurred to me that if I flip the pattern pieces around (back becomes front, front becomes back), add some overall width, some extra length to the “new” front it could make a pretty comfy maternity top.

My first try turned out pretty well, but needed some curve added to bring in the bottom hem to reduce how flared it was hanging off my belly, and I immediately thought that the ruching detail from my first try should take care of this “problem”.  So I modified the length and bottom curves of the front and back to match the Megan Nielsen pattern.

And voila!  Major success!  I’m beyond pleased with this top and will be making several more, at least!  Maybe extended into maxi dress version too?  Hmmm…

4 thoughts on “Dressing the Bump: My PERFECT Maternity Top

  1. Great job on making just the PERFECT top. Sometimes the resolution to sewing problems comes unexpectedly and you were smart enough to grasp it. :-)) Keep up the good work.

  2. Very cute! Saw your photo on the Flickr pool and I thought “that’s exactly what I’d want a knit maternity shirt to be”–I’ll be sure to stop back by next time I need maternity shirts! (Maybe in the near future? 😉 ) Thanks for sharing the process of how you created the pattern.

Leave a Reply

