Dressing the Bump: The Maxi Skirt

When I was pregnant with my girls four years ago I was working full-time in a rather conservative corporate environment, so my day to day maternity wardrobe mostly consisted of the typical dress pants and woven blouses that I had nearly all outgrown by 32 weeks.  Lots of polyester and less than comfortable ensembles overall.  This time around my days are spent out and about on errands during preschool mornings and  running a household and chasing those little girls around the rest of the day.  A lack of comfort just isn’t an option.  Bring on the maxi skirts!

I’d been eyeing the Maxi Skirt Tutorial by Leanne Barlow of Elle Apparel for awhile, even before the need for comfy maternity clothing came around, so finally I jumped on that purchase and started measuring away (eeeek!) to draft my pattern.  I have a few rayon blend jersey knits that I bought from fabric.com way back when, which are perfect for this type of skirt.  The waistband of this skirt not specifically drafted for maternity wear, but it is easily folded down to work around the baby bump, so I expect to be able to wear it post baby as well.

This tutorial is very well-written and easy to follow, and I like that you draft it yourself based on your own measurements.  It sews up very quickly (I think I drafted, cut and sewed it up in maybe three hours… pinning the hem took the longest) especially when only using a serger, and the a-line design is probably pretty adaptable to a shorter skirt as well.  Maybe I’ll give that a try too!

These photos were taken about five weeks ago, around my 25-week mark but it still fits great and will work perfectly for the remainder of this pregnancy.  Another successful maternity wardrobe staple completed!

Leave a Reply

